So you're new to Cub Scouts?

Mission of the BSA

The mission of the Boy Scouts of America is to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law.

Purpose of the BSA

The purpose of this corporation shall be to promote, through organization, and cooperation with other agencies, the ability of boys to do things for themselves and others, to train them in Scoutcraft, and to teach them patriotism, courage, self-reliance, and kindred virtues, using the methods which are now in common use by Boy Scouts.

—Federal Charter, sec. 3.

The Scout Oath

On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law; to help other people at all times; to keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.

The Scout Law

A Scout is:

  • Trustworthy
  • Loyal
  • Helpful
  • Friendly
  • Courteous
  • Kind


  • Obedient
  • Cheerful
  • Thrifty
  • Brave
  • Clean
  • Reverent

Rank Advancement

Each Cub Scout with the help of their parent/guardian and Den Leader works toward a badge of rank based on their grade.  Earning the previous grade’s rank is not required in order to earn the next.  Ranks are age-appropriate per grade level.  Requirements become more challenging as the Cub Scout advances though the ranks.

Adventures are required to earn the rank badge for the particular grade level.  Several adventures are required, incluing at least one that is elective.  Adventures are awarded with a specific belt loop.

The goal is to complete the requirements for a particular rank in time for the annual Blue, Gold & Green Banquet (traditionally held in February, the month of the anniversary of Scouting).  It is then that the Cub Scout will be awarded their rank badge, along with any other adventures they have earned.

Additional elective adventures can be earned until the Cub Scout completes the current grade, when they may begin working toward the next rank badge.

The Advancement Trail



First Grade


Second Grade


Third Grade


Fourth Grade


Fifth Grade

Arrow of Light